Striving

Each and every one of us has something that we are striving to be or to be known for; something that can define us and leave a significant mark of greatness. We each want people to know our individuality. There is a person we want to be known as.

Truth be told, if any one of us would say that this is not true, well, we would be lying.

That desire in us is what drives us.  It is what sits deep in us and gives us a sense of meaning and purpose in our existence here on this earth.  Now, I will say that striving, that drive, or that desire to be known can misguide us if we are not careful.  I read a quote earlier that made me think about that desire in myself as well as that desire in some of my students and others I know.

Here’s the quote: “To dream of the person you wish to be is to waste the person you are.” Don Quixote

Before I go on let me say that I don’t believe we should not have goals or even dreams. What kind of life would that be?  As I type this, I have the image of Don Quixote de la Mancha, atop his horse Rocinante, and the words “to dream the impossible dream” running through my head.

But, I am saying the power of misguided goals, and dreams and the striving towards those goals can easily cause our focus to become blurred or fuzzy. It can cause us to become ineffective in who we are and what we need now, resulting in a frustration that keeps us in a place of dissatisfaction of our current involvements, and paths that are leading, guiding, strengthening, and in some cases pruning us into what we need to be, so we can become what it is that we need to become.

I am reminded of two scriptures that I struggle balance between. They are both impossible to overlook or ignore in my own life and journey.

Cease striving and know that I am God…”  Psalm 46:10 (NASB)

Do you not know that those who run in a race all run, but only one receives the prize? Run in such a way that you may win.” 1 Corinthians 9:24 (NASB)

The contrast of balance between these two, I do attempt to keep, even though at times I feel like Dash in the last scene from the movie “The Incredibles.” Trying to keep my balance of who I am and who God wants me to be.

Keeping all this in mind I do my best in the moment of where I am in life and in my goals and dreams holding this verse close.  Ephesians 5:10 (The Message) “Figure out what will please Christ, and then do it.

-Pastor Terry

Leave a Reply

